Candidates continue to file for upcoming election

Abby Cavenaugh

February 26, 2014

Since filing opened on Feb. 10, a steady stream of incumbents and challengers have visited the new Board of Elections headquarters on Morven Road to file for office.

Many candidates filed on Feb. 10, including four candidates for Anson County Sheriff: Mike Smith of Peachland, and Josh Beam, Landric Reid and Ricky Little, all of Wadesboro. As of press time, they remained the only four candidates who have filed.

Dr. George Truman also filed on Feb. 10 to retain his District 5 seat on the Board of Education. Fellow school board incumbents have also filed since then, including Chair Lisa Davis, Marilynn Bennett and Bobbie Little. Brian Johnson has also filed for the at-large seat on the Board of Education.

Three candidates have filed for the District 2 (Lilesville) seat on the Board of Commissioners. Incumbent Vancine Sturdivant is being challenged by George C. Hodge and Robert Smith.

County commissioners Anna Baucom and Dr. Jim Sims have also filed for re-election to their seats.

Mark Hammonds filed for a third term as Clerk of Court on Feb. 19. He was first elected in 2006, and re-elected in 2010. As of press time, he was running unopposed.

Candidate filing will continue until noon on Friday. The Board of Elections is located at 402 Morven Road in Wadesboro.