Burn ban lifted in Anson County

By: By Imari Scarbrough - iscarbrough@civitasmedia.com

The burn ban in Anson and several other counties was lifted on Monday.

Steve Troxler, state Commissioner of Agriculture, lifted the ban “due to recent precipitation and lower fire danger,” according to a release from the North Carolina Forest Service.

The ban was also lifted in Caswell, Davidson, Davie, Forsyth, Guilford, Montgomery, Randolph, Richmond, Rockingham, Rowan, Stanly, Stokes, Surry and Yadkin counties.

Bans were lifted in 32 other counties on Dec. 2.

The state has suffered a series of wildfires in the last several weeks, as have other states in the southeast. A fire in Gatlinburg on Nov. 28 killed at least 14 people, with others potentially missing as of Monday evening, local news outlets reported.

As of 3:01 p.m. Monday, the forest service reported that one wildfire was still burning in South Mountain State Park in Burke County, but that the fire was 95 percent contained.

Reach reporter Imari Scarbrough at 704-994-5471 and follow her on Twitter @ImariScarbrough.

By Imari Scarbrough