Emrich named to LandTrust board

By: By Natalie Davis - ndavis@ansonrecord.com

Shelby Emrich now has another item on her busy plate.

Emrich, executive director of the Anson County Chamber of Commerce, now holds a board seat at the Salisbury-based LandTrust for Central North Carolina.

She was named to a three-year term on the organization’s 18-member board of directors at its annual meeting June 8. Board members can serve a maximum of three terms, or nine years.

“The LandTrust is very fortunate to have supportive board members who have given many years of service to this organization in our conservation mission, and also blessed to have talented new board members to volunteer to serve in the coming years,” said Travis Morehead, the LandTrust’s executive director.

Emrich, who has known Morehead for several years said she is “excited” and looking forward to working with him and serving on the board.

“We have spoken over the years about numerous things specific to Anson County and he has also been involved in the Chamber’s Big Game Hunt Tournament,” she said. “He contacted me about being the Anson County representative for The LandTrust board.”

The LandTrust is a private nonprofit organized in 1995 as an off-shoot of the Yadkin-Pee Dee Lakes Project, according to its website. The founding board “saw the need for a land conservation organization to compliment the sustainable development work of the Project.”

The organization’s 10-county region includes Anson, Cabarrus, Davidson, Davie, Iredell, Montgomery, Randolph, Richmond, Rowan and Stanly counties.

“As with my position with the Chamber, we are here to promote and support small businesses, while also promoting our wonderful county,” Emrich said. “We are blessed with natural resources and beautiful rural areas throughout this county, and serving on this board will help to promote it even more.”

Emrich was promoted to her current position with the chamber in August of 2016, after having served as interim director and working for the chamber for five years, and is dedicated to helping Anson County with sustainable economic development.

The board holds quarterly meetings in Salisbury.


By Natalie Davis